Achievement in Publishing

The individual has demonstrated a history of creating excellent magazine content and/or products; achieved long-term success in the magazine industry; and made significant contributions to the Alberta magazine industry, including volunteer work, advocacy, leadership and collaboration.

2021 Achievement in Publishing Recipient


Brian French’s expertise in media sales and marketing has made him a key figure in Canadian magazines over the past two decades. As a former member of the senior leadership team at St. Joseph Communications, Brian managed Alberta- and B.C.-based offices working on national publications such as Wedding Bells and FASHION. But he’s perhaps best known for his work with the WHERE Canada brand — both in southern Alberta and across the country.

Brian first became publisher of WHERE Calgary in 2005 and rose to the position of Group Publisher for WHERE Canada overseeing WHERE publications in the major Canadian tourism centres such as Ottawa, Toronto, Vancouver and Whistler while assisting the franchise markets of Halifax, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Banff and Victoria. His expertise in tourism and travel media extended to a number of local, national and global organizations, including CAA, Tourism Calgary, Ottawa Tourism, Calgary Hotel Association, The Greater Toronto Hotel Association, Tourism Toronto, Les Clefs d’Or Canada and Skål International.

Over the past two decades, Brian also served more than 10 years as a volunteer board member with AMPA, as a director and in executive positions, bringing to the boardroom table a characteristic conviviality and a gentlemanly nature much appreciated among peers and colleagues, past and present.

“I’ve always enjoyed the aspects of teamwork and collaboration that go into producing a magazine,” Brian says. “From start to finish, each magazine issue is the result of an incredible pool of talent and energy. After so many years in this business, my favourite moments have always been when the first advance copies arrive at my office. The sense of pride and accomplishment is never for myself, but for my team.”




Previous Winners

  • 2020 | M.L. Ellen Percival

  • 2019 | Jackie Flanagan

  • 2018 | Joyce Byrne

  • 2017 | Katharina Doyle

  • 2016 | Anders Knudsen

  • 2015 | Chris Bird

  • 2014 | Tom Tait

  • 2013 | Elaine Kupser

  • 2012 | Ruth Kelly

  • 2011 | Rob Tanner