2018 Alberta Literary Awards Winners

Date: 4th June 2018

The Writers’ Guild of Alberta announced the winners of the 2018 Alberta Literary Awards on June 2, 2018 as part of their provincial conference, Refining Our Narratives, in Calgary. The awards celebrate and recognize Alberta authors whose writing demonstrates the strength and diversity of Albertan narratives.

Congratulations to all Alberta Literary Awards Winners, with a special congratulations to Sadia Masud and Glass Buffalo for “Taken Over By The West,” winner of the James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction.

For more details, visit The Writers’ Guild of Alberta here.

R. Ross Annett Award for Children’s Literature (Sponsored by the Under the Arch Youth Foundation at The Calgary Foundation)
Sarah Everett (Edmonton) – Everyone We’ve Been, Knopf / Penguin Random House

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction (Sponsored by the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity)
Deborah Willis (Calgary) – The Dark and Other Love Stories, Hamish Hamilton Canada / Penguin Random House Canada

Wilfrid Eggleston Award for Nonfiction
Stephen Bown (Canmore) – Island of the Blue Foxes: Disaster and Triumph on Bering’s Great Voyage to Alaska, Douglas & McIntyre

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (Sponsored by Alberta Views)
Karen Hines (Calgary) – Crawlspace, Coach House Books

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry (Sponsored by Stephan V. Benediktson)
Benjamin Hertwig (Edmo

Edmonton) – Slow War, McGill-Queen’s University Press 

James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction
Sadia Masud (Edmonton) – “Taken Over By the West,” Glass Buffalo

Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story (Supported by Vanna Tessier and Guy Tessier)
Norma Dunning (Edmonton) – “Elipsee,” University of Alberta Press

Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Award (Supported by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta Board of Directors)
Cynthia Scott Wandler (Morinville) – “Things You Can’t Do With A Broken Left Arm”

WGA Golden Pen Award for Lifetime Achievement (Supported by Aritha van Herk)
Cecelia Frey  

Posted in: Latest News   |   Tags: ,